Stanford White and Friends  
Join Justin Ferate as we seek out monuments and memories of one of this nation’s greatest architects: Stanford White, while also focusing on White’s generous embracing of the works of his fellow artists. We’ll begin at the Renwick Triangle, to view the site where Stanford White was born. Traveling to Cooper Square, we’ll view the statue of Peter Cooper – a sculpture by White’s long-time friend, Augustus St. Gaudens with a neoclassical base and granite entablature designed by Stanford White. Moving westward, we’ll travel the byways of Greenwich Village to see White’s magnificent Italianate creation, Judson Memorial Church, complete with an Italian campanile (bell tower). The church boasts of remarkable stained glass windows by White’s good friend, John La Farge. We’ll also view and discuss the history of what is possibly Stanford White’s most beloved monument: Washington Arch, dedicated to the Inauguration of the first President of the United States. Originally created as a temporary parade arch of plaster and wood, it was so well received that Stanford White was asked to make the arch a permanent fixture in Greenwich Village. The arch, modeled on the Arc de Triomphe in Paris, boasts of a panoply of sculptural works by artist friends of Stanford White: Frederick MacMonnies, Hermon A. MacNeil, and A. Stirling Calder.

En route, we’ll also discuss White’s inordinately active social life with buildings such as the Benedick (featured in Edith Wharton’s novel, House of Mirth), the Salmagundi Club, and the Tile Club, which was remodeled by White. We’ll also note the site of the 10th Street Studio Building, designed by architect Richard Morris Hunt in 1857 as the first modern artists’ studio building in the United States. This building was the center of New York’s art world (and the home base for many of Stanford White’s friends) throughout the remainder of the 19th century. Soon after its completion, the building helped make Greenwich Village the center of the arts in New York City, drawing artists from all over the country to work, exhibit, and sell their art. In its initial years, Winslow Homer took a studio there, as did William Merritt Chase and John La Farge, and many of the artists of the Hudson River School lived and worked here, including Frederic Edwin Church, Lockwood de Forest, J. F. Kensett, Sandford Gifford, Jervis McEntee, and Albert Bierstadt. Three generations of the Alexander Calder family lived in the 10th Street Studio Building.

For a diversion, we’ll also view the home of Lockwood de Forest and the adjacent Ava, which was once home to the beloved Greenwich Village writer Dawn Powell. The buildings are replete with exquisite East Indian teak carvings conceived and executed for Lockwood de Forest, a prominent decorator and associate of Louis Comfort Tiffany (and, of course, a friend of Stanford White). These two structures are an absolute delight for the eye!

We’ll also discover the Church of the Ascension, designed in 1840 by noted architect Richard Upjohn (Trinity Church Wall Street). During the years 1885-1889, Stanford White hired a group of artists in redesigning the church’s interiors. John La Farge created the immense altar mural – one of the finest in the nation. Other details were by Louis St. Gaudens, David Maitland Armstrong, and Charles Follen McKim. The church is truly a Stanford White ensemble!

Come join us! There’s much more to see on this jaunt as we discover some of the New York’s great treasures by Stanford White and his friends!
Please download, print and mail in your registration form along with payment.
» Download Registration Form
» Download the full Wolfe Walkers brochure including the Registration Form
Date: Saturday June 4, 2016
Time: 1:00 PM  to approximately 4:30 PM
Cost: $ 28 in advance | $ 33 on-site (By check to Johanna Sterbin)
Meet: By the small triangular viewing park at Third Avenue at Stuyvesant Street. This is just one short block north of St. Mark’s Place.
Train: IRT 6 Train to Astor Place. Walk north along Third Avenue to Stuyvesant Street, which is the only true “East-West” street in Manhattan (so it appears to be positioned on a diagonal).
Tours operate rain or shine. Please dress appropriately. For more information or to confirm meeting locations please call (212) 223-2777. Please note that tours sometimes run late. While tours are rarely cancelled you can call the number above to confirm, or join our mailing list to keep informed of cancellations due to extreme weather conditions.
Justin Ferate's Tours of the City |
Justin Ferate's Tours of the City    |    (212) 223-2777    |    
Design by Pixel Marsala /