THE NEW QUEENS MUSEUM & THE 1939 & 1964 WORLD’S FAIR SITE  
The Queens Museum structure was built as the New York City Building – to house the New York City Pavilion at the 1939 World’s Fair. The building was directly adjacent to the great icons of the Fair, the Trylon and Perisphere, and it was one of the few buildings created for the Fair that were intended to be permanent. It is now the only surviving building from the 1939 World’s Fair. One of the proudest periods in the history of the New York City Building was from 1946 to 1950 when it housed the General Assembly of the newly formed United Nations. Today, that original building has been transformed. Join Justin as we tour some of the current exhibitions in this newly expanded Queens Museum. In addition, we’ll have the opportunity to view some of the museum’s several beloved ongoing exhibitions.

We will visit the Panorama of the City of New York – the jewel in the crown of the collection of the Queens Museum of Art. Built by Robert Moses for the 1964 World’s Fair, in part as a celebration of the City’s municipal infrastructure, this 9,335 square foot architectural model includes every single building constructed before 1992 in all five boroughs; that is a total of 895,000 individual structures. The Panorama is the one exhibit recalled by virtually everyone who has ever visited the Queens Museum.

The Panorama was one of the most successful attractions at the 1964 Fair with a daily average of 1,400 visitors. In 1992, Lester Associates changed over 60,000 structures to bring it up-to-date. Subsequently, the installation of new buildings on the Panorama – including Citi Field, Yankee Stadium, Brooklyn Bridge Park, Newtown Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant, and 27 buildings in Battery Park City, among others – allow recent additions to the urban landscape to be reflected.

Now on display in the new wing of the Queens Museum is the ever-beloved Egon and Hildegard Neustadt Collection of Tiffany Glass. The inaugural exhibition for the gallery is Shade Garden: Floral Lamps from the Tiffany Studios, which features 20 lamps exemplifying Tiffany’s masterful translation of nature into glass. Lamps of all shapes and sizes reveal the extraordinary artistry required to accurately portray complicated blossom shapes and the unruly growth patterns of flowers as well as their nuances of color and texture. Lampshades adorned with profusions of wisteria, peonies, pond lilies, and poppies abound – including some of the most beloved and iconic Tiffany motifs. Also on display is a remarkable display of Tiffany lamps, windows, metalwork, and ephemera, as well as an immense one-of-a-kind archive of Tiffany flat and pressed-glass "jewels” left over from Tiffany’s studios, which were located in nearby Corona, Queens, where, until the late 1930s, Tiffany maintained busy studios, extensive glass furnaces, and a large bronze foundry.

The Queens Museum will always be inextricably linked to the 1939 and 1964 World’s Fairs, and now on display is a collection of more than 10,000 objects pertaining to the two expositions. The newly installed World’s Fair Visible Storage and Gallery on the second floor displays more than 900 three-dimensional pieces arranged by the date of each World’s Fair, and within these categories, arranged by donor. The dense installation provides an opportunity to study a large number of related works of World’s Fair objects up close, and to compare and contrast a wide range of items from 1939 and 1964. The Visible Storage provides unprecedented access to explore the collection that was formerly tucked away in the Museum’s art vault. Many of these objects have never been displayed in the history of the Queens Museum.

In the 1930s, nearly 900 acres of central Queens was transformed into a vast showplace of innovation and creativity for the 1939-40 World’s Fair. Prior to that, the area had been used by the City of Brooklyn as ash dumps. In F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel, “The Great Gatsby,” the area was referred to as “The Valley of Ashes.” The 1939 World’s Fair site was re-imagined a generation later for the 1964-65 World’s Fair, after which it became Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, the flagship city park of Queens and one of the largest green spaces in the five boroughs. After our visit to the Queens Museum, we’ll take a brief walking tour of this vibrant public space to learn about the remaining landmarks from the World’s Fairs, and the incredible history of two of New York’s most important cultural events.

PLEASE PRINT OUT WOLFE WALKERS BROCHURE FOR BUS INSTRUCTIONS, IF DESIRED.
REGISTRATION:
Please download, print and mail in your registration form along with payment.
» Download Registration Form
» Download the full Wolfe Walkers brochure including the Registration Form
Date: Saturday June 18, 2016
Time: 1:00 PM  to approximately 4:00 PM
Cost: $ 34 in advance |$ 39 on-site (Includes Admissions)
Meet: Queens Museum, located in the New York City Building in Flushing Meadows – Corona Park. From Manhattan, please allot at least 45-50 minutes travel time.
Train: IRT #7 Flushing Line. Exit Mets-Willets Point, the second to the last stop on the #7 Train. Follow the signs to Flushing Meadows Corona Park through the exit ramp of the station into the park. Follow the signs toward the right on a ten-minute walk through the park to the museum, which is located next to the Unisphere, the giant steel globe. Please allot 15 minutes for the walk from the Mets-Willets Point subway station to the museum.
Tours operate rain or shine. Please dress appropriately. For more information or to confirm meeting locations please call (212) 223-2777. Please note that tours sometimes run late. While tours are rarely cancelled you can call the number above to confirm, or join our mailing list to keep informed of cancellations due to extreme weather conditions.
Justin Ferate's Tours of the City | www.justinsnewyork.com
 
Justin Ferate's Tours of the City    |    (212) 223-2777    |    
Design by Pixel Marsala / nycPlayground.com